Homemade Potato & Cheese Pierogi


This post is so well done and beautifully photographed and the recipe sounds exceptional.

jjbegonia

pierogi

I would have posted this recipe earlier were it not for the self-induced food coma I embarked upon during the Easter holiday.  Easter is one of the few celebrations in my house rife with ethnic tradition, mainly in the form of Polish and Ukranian cuisine.  When I was a kid, my family would go to the Polish Home in Rome, NY, every Friday night to eat fish fry and heaping plates of pierogi (If I was well-behaved, I was allowed to buy my own 75 cent 7-Up from the bar, too!).

My Ukranian Grandma meanwhile was a skilled cook in her own right, and could often be seen standing at her stove tossing steaming pots of the homemade dumplings in melted butter.  We lost my Grandma when I was in high school, but ever since, my Mom has made it a point to continue making the pierogi.  The process is…

View original post 513 more words

Leave a Reply

